The Magic behind Affirming Tibetian Prayer Flags

What does Tibetian Prayer flags mean

The Tibetian culture fills our minds and lives with the light of positivity and calmness. This culture teaches us to be pure and satisfied. Tibetian culture has given us a lot of spiritual values and not only that but it has also blessed the world with Tibetian prayer flags. These flags are not like any ordinary flags, then have a deep-rooted meaning and prayers. In this blog, we will be heading to find out the auspicious meaning and prayers that these flags hold.

The major idea behind these Tibetian prayer flags:

If we try to understand the basic meaning of these prayers then it will go on like this:

“May the rain fall at the proper time.

May the crops and livestock be bountiful.

May there be freedom from illness, famine, and war.

May all beings be well and happy.”

These colourful rectangular pieces of clothes are known for promoting compassion, peace, strength and wisdom. Tibetian prayer flags pass on positive energy and prayers through the wind.

There are two types of flags in Tibetan culture:

The first one is the Lung-ta flags and the second one is the Dar Chog flags. The simple meaning of the Lung-ta flag is wind horse or strong horse, ta is the symbol of speed and transforming bad fortune into a good one. In the context of Dar Chog flags, Dar means better fortune, health and life. Whereas Chong means pure feeling and emotions that a person holds.

Also Read: Books That Every Traveller Must Read

Tibetian Travel Flags | travel mitrra | mitrra blogs

These two flags have different appearances but share the same root of purpose and enlightenment.

Lung-ta Flags: Tibetian Prayer Flags:

Lung-ta flags are formed as the combination of 5 rectangular flags of different colours symbolising different things. These Tibetian prayer flags have a fixed order in which they are made to promote positive energy and harmony.

Colours of Lung-ta flags:

This flag has five different colours including blue, white, red, green and yellow. And their order is the same as the order of colours I mentioned. All these colours hold a proper meaning and involve each element through which our human body is made.

Here the BLUE colour symbolises the Sky and Space. Showing the limitlessness of our Universe and nature.

The WHITE colour symbolises Air and Wind. Showing how all the prayers and positive energy moves with the wind passing by. The Air may take away all our pain and sorrows, blessing us with the pinch of harmony and peace.

The RED colour symbolises Fire. Fire is one of the five elements through which God made our mortal human body. It shows how the fire will burn up all our ego and selfishness, letting us towards the path of heaven and enlightenment.

The GREEN colour symbolises Water. And tells us to keep going and never give up. It teaches us to be like the flow of water, no matter how many mountains are coming in their way. It will today or tomorrow will make its way.

Last but not the least, the YELLOW

colour symbolises the Earth. Which is the most important among the five elements of GOD. It shows us from where we have emerged and where we will live after our body dies.

All these flags support love, peace and harmony in the order they are arranged. When all these colours come together and become a unit they form a balance to live.

Also Read: Kodaikanal: Complete Travel Guide (2020)

Dar Chog flags: Tibetian Prayer flags

Dar Chog flags are the second type of Tibetian prayer flags. These flags are formed and later on attached to a pole of height ranging from 3 to 60 feet. If you ever get a chance to visit North then you will definitely notice these flags across monasteries and other sacred places.

The Mantras of Tibetian Prayer Flags:

These flags are not only blessed with unique colours and peace but are also engraved with auspicious prayers or mantras. These mantras are believed to be carried out as the wind passes through them. People who print mantras and prayers on these flags use the Woodblock printing method as the primary way. These mantras are not printed for the Gods. Instead the main ideology behind printing these mantras is to spread them in the whole world through the wind that passes across it.

What does Tibetian Prayer flags mean | mitrra blogs | travel | tibet

The Lung ta flag surrounds various versions of approximately 400 traditional mantras. All the mantras engraved on the flags are taken from the three great Buddhist Bodhisattvas.

Padmasambhava (Guru Rinpoche), Avalokiteśvara (Chenrezig, the bodhisattva of compassion, and the patron of the Tibetan people), and Manjusri.

Along with mantra, tibetian prayer flags are also blessed with the presence of name of four powerful animals, often referred as Four Dignities. These four hefty animals are Dragon, Garuda, Tiger and Snow Lion. The images or name of these animals are printed on the corners of the flag.

The prayer tag OM MANI PADME HUM holds a pure meaning hidden in each word of this mantra. Om means our impure body speech and mind. Mani means Jewels- symbolising the factors like compassion and love. Padme means Lotus- which shows Wisdom. And Hum is the synonym for Akshobhya—Nothing can distract this person of thing.


From all the amazing information that we provided in the above blog, we hope you must have got answers to all your doubts. 

So, this was all for this blog. Do check out our previous blogs for more interesting content.

Hope you like it!

If you like what we write then do share it among your friends and family. 

Wish you a very Happy Journey and Keep reading our blog for some amazing content related to more travelling.

For any type of query or information feel free to drop it on our Contact Us Page.
If you want to read our other travel blogs also then do visit our Blog Page.